April 25, 2022


Washington Blues Society Celebrates the 2022 Best of the Blues Awards (“BB Awards”) at Aurora Borealis in Shoreline

On Sunday, April 24th, the Washington Blues Society recognized blues music achievement in-person at Aurora Borealis in Shoreline, Washington at its annual Best of the Blues (“BB Awards”) show. Blues society members nominated BB Award recipients in 30+ categories with the Stacy Jones Band leading the field with 10 nominations and eight awards.

Stacy Jones received the Paul Green Blues Harmonica, Blues Piano/Keyboard, Blues Performer, Blues Songwriter awards, and Rick Bowen received the Chris Leighton Blues Drummer and Blues Writer Awards. Blues society members voted the Jones Family Christmas as Best Non-Festival Blues Event and the Stacy Jones Band as Best Blues Band.

First time nominees who took home BB Awards include the Kim & Brian Band for Best New Blues Act and Gordy Mitchell for Best Blues Photo for pictures printed in the blues society’s Bluesletter. Long-time blues society performers honored include CD Woodbury in the Electric Blues Guitar and Blues Hall of Fame categories, Leanne Travelyan as Blues Instrumentalist (Other), Rod Cook for Acoustic Blues Guitar, T-Town Aces for Best Little Bill & The Blue Notes Traditional Blues Act, Blues DJ Clancy Dunagin, Rev. Dave Brown for Keeping the Blues Alive, and the Madison Avenue Pub for Best Blues Club (and host of the Best Blues Jam, the Unbound Blues Jam). Joel Astley received the Mark DuFresne Male Vocalist Award and Sheri Roberts Greimes took home the Blues Female Vocalist award.

The Washington Blues Society Board selected Kevin Young, Paul Quilty, and Willow Stone for “Blue to the Bone” Awards for exceptional contributions to the state’s blues community, and the Board Awarded its first “Blues Diamond Award” to volunteer Chadwick Creamer for 25+ years’ service.

Each year, the Washington Blues Society remembers blues community members who have passed on since the last awards show, and the 2022 In Memoriam featured an all-star line-up of blues musicians who played Pink Floyd’s “Wish You Were Here” and the Beatles’ “In My Life” as photos of recently-departed blues artists scrolled on the venue’s screens. The audience was clearly moved remembering Charlie Watts, Sam Lay and several others, and many blues fans wept when Lissa Ramaglia smiled down from the screen. She posthumously received BB Awards in the Blues Bass and Lifetime Achievement Award categories.

The Washington Blues Society is an all-volunteer, nonprofit organization of The Blues Foundation in Memphis, Tennessee. For more information, please visit www.wablues.org. Awardees’ list attached.

Congratulations to the Washington Blues Society 2022 BB Award Recipients


The Full List of the 2022 Best of the Blues Awards presented April 24th 2022 at The Aurora Borealis

Mark DuFresne Male Vocalist Best New Blues Act
Joel Asley Kim & Brian Band
Blues Female Vocalist Blues Performer
Sheri Roberts Greimes Stacy Jones
Electric Blues Guitar Blues Songwriter
CD Woodbury Stacy Jones
Slide Blues Guitar Washington Blues Recording
Eric Rice 50 – Polly O’Keary & the Rhythm Method
Acoustic Blues Guitar Best Blues Club
Rod Cook Madsion Avenue Pub
Blues Bass Best Blues Jam
Lissa Ramaglia Madsion Avenue Pub – Unbound Blues Jam
Paul Green Blues Harmonica Blues Writer
Stacy Jones Rick J Bowen
Chris Leighton Blues Drummer Best Blues Graphic
Rick J Bowen Dennis Hacker
Blues Piano/Keyboard Best Blues Photo
Stacy Jones Gordy Mirchell
Blues Piano/Keyboard Best Blues DJ
Stacy Jones Clancy Dunigan
Blues Horn Keeping the Blues Alive
Mike Marinig Dave Brown
Blues Instrumentalist – Other Blues Hall of Fame
Leanne Trevalyan CD Woodbury
Best Blues Band Lifetime Achievement Award
Stacy Jones Band Lissa Ramaglia
Best Little Bill & the Blue Notes Best Non Festival Event
Traditional Blues Act

T-Town Aces

Jones Family Christmas

Best Regional Blues Festival

Best Solo/Duo 

Sheri Roberts Griemes

Best Community Festival Blue to the Bone
Freedom Fest Kevin Young

Paul Quilty


Blues Diamond Award

Chadwick Creamer

Willow Stone