Washington Blues Society 2019 Best of the Blues Awards Winners

The Washington Blues Society’s annual Best of the Blues Awards presented in partnership with the Anacortes Brewery (“BB Awards”) were held on Sunday, April 28th to honor musicians, artists, events, and venues nominated by blues society members in 32 award categories. The 2019 BB Awards show featured performances by Nick Vigarino, John Maxwell Red House and a special tribute to Fat James by original members of his band. The new inductees into the Washington Blues Society Hall of Fame for 2019 are Lissa Ramaglia and the Fat James Band. The shows was also a celebration for the Societies 30th anniversary. The nominees once again represent the very best blues performers from throughout the Pacific Northwest. The field represents the work of several successful fan campaigns, high visibility acts, new sensations and long-established favorites who all deserve recognition for their steadfast determination and accomplishments.

Mark DuFresne Male Vocalist Award Joel  Astley

Blues Female Vocalist  Sheri  Roberts Greimes

Electric Blues Guitar CD Woodbury

Slide Blues Guitar Billy Stapleton

Blues Bass Scotty Harris

Chris Leighton Blues Drummer Award Tommy Cook

Blues Horn Lonnie Williams

Paul Green Blues Harmonica Award Joel Astley

Blues Piano/Keyboard      Jimmy Holden

Acoustic Blues Guitar Rod Cook

Instrumentalist – Other Mike  Marinig

Blues Band           Stacy Jones  Band 



Little Bill and the Blue Notes Traditional

Blues Act     Brian Lee & the Orbiters

Solo/Duo Blues Act Sheri Roberts Greimes

New Blues Band   Chicken Hawk Band

Blues Performer  Patti Allen

Blues Songwriter  Polly O’Keary

Washington Blues Recording      Brian Butler – Butler’s Blues

Blues Writer Rick J  Bowen

Blues Club Highway 99 Blues Club

Blues  Photo Image

Denise Hathaway – Alan Edwards Bluesletter

Cover February

Blues Graphic Image  Steve Perringer – Mt Baker Poster

 Blues DJ  John Kessler

Keeping the Blues Alive Award  Ed Maloney

Lifetime Achievement Award      

Mark  DuFresne

Blues Hall of Fame – Individual  Lissa  Ramaglia

Blues Hall of Fame – Band  Fat  James Band

Non-Festival Blues Event  Polly O’Keary Blues Jam 4 Nicaragua

Best Regional Blues Festival  Mt. Baker

Best Community Blues Festival  Ebey Island Freedom Fest

 Best Open Blues Jam   

Unbound Blues Jam at

Madison Ave Pub

Blue to the Bone

Linda Beilfus

Blue to the Bone

Clancy Dunigan

Blue to the Bone

Rev. Dave Brown

Blue to the Bone

Rachael Millikan