2017 Best of the Blues Awards Nominees Information Page

Washington Blues Society Announces 2017 Best of the Blues Awards

(“BB Awards”) Show April 9th at the Kirkland Performance Center


The Washington Blues Society’s annual Best of the Blues Awards (“BB Awards”) returns to the Kirkland Performance Center on Sunday, April 9th at 3:00 PM to honor musicians and artists nominated by blues society members in 32 award categories. The 2017 BB Awards show features performances by select nominees and recognizes new inductees into the Washington Blues Society Hall of Fame. (full list below )

The nominees represent the best blues performers throughout the Pacific Northwest. Long-time favorites Brian Lee and the Orbiters return with five nominations, including Best Blues Band, Best Performer and Best Songwriter. Fresh from their 2017 International Blues Challenge performances in Memphis, Polly O’Keary and the Rhythm Method garnered five nominations, including Best Band, Electric Guitarist and Female Vocalist of the Year. Stanislove, the blues society’s representative at the 2017 International Blues Challenge is also up for a Solo/Duo BB Award. First-time nominees include vocalist Sheri Roberts Greimes, guitarist Brett “Bad Blood,” Benton, Hammond B3 master Joe Doria and Kenmore’s Capps Club, the new home of the Washington Blues Society’s free Blues Bash held on the second Tuesday each month.

“The Washington Blues Society is pleased to return to the Kirkland Performance Center,” says blues society president Tony Frederickson. “We have a diverse set of nominees that include blues community veterans and newcomers.” Frederickson also serves on the Board of Directors on the Memphis-based Blues Foundation and plays a key role in helping affiliated blues societies keep the blues alive in their communities.

In addition to its annual BB Awards program, the all-volunteer Washington Blues Society, has a Musicians Relief Fund for blues musicians in need, hosts a music education program called “Passing the Torch” and publishes a 32-page color monthly glossy magazine, The Bluesletter. More information: www.wablues.org

Advance tickets:  $25 for Washington Blues Society members, $30 for non-members, and $25 for seniors. Youth 15 and under free. Tickets: http://www.kpcenter.org. After the awards, the party will continue at nearby Hector’s Restaurant at 112 Lake Street South in downtown Kirkland. More information: http://www.hectorskirkland.com/). The BB Awards is one of the most popular events on the Washington Blues Society’s blues calendar: it’s a great show and the music will continue at the exciting after-party (No cover!).

Washington Blues Society 2017 “BB Awards” (clink on each name for web link to more info) 

Mark Dufresne Male Vocalist Award

Randy Norris

Sammy Eubanks

Chebon Tiger

Blues Female Vocalist

Cee Cee James

Sheri Roberts Greimes

Polly O’Keary

Electric Blues Guitar

Mark Riley

Dave Miller

Robin Moxey

Slide Blues Guitar

Brian Lee

Mark Riley

Nick Vigarino

Blues Bass

Farko Dosumov

Don Wilhelm

Lissa Ramaglia

Chris Leighton Blues Drummer Award

Russell Kammerer

Rick J Bowen

Tommy Cook

Blues Horn

Jon Goforth

Jim King

Mike Marinig

Paul Green Blues Harmonica Award

Joel Astley

Mitch Pumpian

Jim McLaughlin

Bill Davis

Blues Piano/Keyboard

Jimmy Holden

Michael Baxter

Joe Doria

Acoustic Blues Guitar

Brett Benton

Randy Norris

Ryan LaPlante

Blues Instrumentalist – Other

Angelo Ortiz – Congas

Ben Hunter – Mandolin

Richard Allen – Accordion

New Blues Band

Willie & the Whips

Kevin Sutton and Blue Monday

Big Road Blues

Blues Band  

Brian Lee & the Orbiters

Patti Allen and Monster Road 

Polly O’Keary & the Rhythm Method

Eric Rice Band

Little Bill & the Blue Notes Traditional Blues Act Award

Brian Lee & the Orbiters

Ben Hunter & Joe Seamons

Willie & the Whips

Kevin Sutton and Blue Monday

Solo/Duo Blues Act

Randy Norris & Jeff Nicely


Son Jack Jr & Michael Wilde

Blues Performer

Brian Lee

Patti Allen

Nick Vigarino

Kevin Sutton

Blues Songwriter

Brian Lee

Sheri Roberts Greimes

Polly O’Keary

Chris Eger

Washington Blues Recording

Sugar Me – Sammy Eubanks

Homage – Willie & the Whips

Bleeding Heart – Sheri Roberts Greimes

Psychogeography – Stickshift Annie with Kimball & the Fugitives

Blues Club

Highway 99

Madison Avenue Pub

Capps Club

Blues Writer

Rocky Nelson

Rick J Bowen

Amy Sassenberg 

Blues Photo Image

Paul Brown – Shots from Sunbanks

(p. 20 December 2016 Bluesletter)


Monty Brown – Kevin Sutton Photo

(p. 30 January 2016 Bluesletter)

Dan Hill – Larry Williams Photo Art

(p. 7 August 2016 Bluesletter)


Blues Graphic Image

Dennis Hacker – Sculpted Mud Guitar Freedom Fest Painting

Steve Perringer – Mt. Baker Poster & T-Shirt

2016 Jazz in the Valley Poster

12th Annual Highway 99 New Year’s Eve Bash Poster


Blues DJ

Robin K

Clancy Dunigan

John Kessler


Keeping the Blues Alive Award

Dennis “Zab” Zyvoloski  https://www.facebook.com/dennis.zyvoloski?fref=ts

Don Glenn

Mary McPage


Lifetime Achievement Award

Russell Kammerer

Paul Green

Stickshift Annie Eastwood


Washington Blues Society Hall of Fame (Individual)

Stickshift Annie Eastwood

Lee Oskar

Raven Humphries


Washington Blues Society Hall of Fame (Band)

Jr. Cadillac

Isaac Scott Band

Steve Bailey & the Blue Flames


Best Non-Festival Blues Event

Jones Family Christmas

Hayride to Hell at Highway 99

Snohomish Blues Invasion


Best Regional Blues Festival

Mt. Baker Rhythm & Blues Festival

Sunbanks Festival

Winthrop Rhythm & Blues Festival


Best Community Blues Festival

Ebey Island Freedom Fest

Snohomish Blues Invasion

Poverty Bay Blues and Brews Festival

Chebonaroo Fundraiser for North Kitsap Fish Lake

Open Blues Jam

Madison Ave Pub

Raging River

Collector’s Choice

Wild Hare

Download a PDF of the 2017 ballot here:: 2017 BB awards ballot -print scan ,circle names/vote email to president@wablues.org

or find it on the back page of the February and march issues of the Blues Letter. Mail in Ballots ( with post address sticker for current members, or with memebership form ) to  WBS PO BOX 70604,Seattle WA. 98127.